Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Upgrades & Modifications
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Shredder's Concave Spacers

:

Upgrades & Modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 19th, 2009, 11:10   #121
Donster
 
Donster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by turok_t View Post
Oh, thanks for clarifying. I changed my inner barrel to a Promethesus 6.03mm tight bore right when I got the gun so I dont know how my gun was shooting with the stock barrel. Maybe I wouldnt even notice the difference. But hopefully when i upgrade the other parts, ie air nozzle, piston/head, cyclinder/head, spring, ill be able to see a dramatic difference. Happy thanksgiving guys. Hope you guys dont get any bird flu from eating turkey
ya if your gun already has a TB in it, than it shouldn't be performing like that. its definitely an internal problem. after you upgrade the parts, hopefully you will see a drastic performance upgrade.
Donster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 11:44   #122
Oborous
 
Oborous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrath144 View Post
I'll bump this.
Has anyone heard anything from Azathoth? I paid him for two units well over a week ago and have heard nothing since. Has anyone else?
Quote:
Originally Posted by pugs144 View Post
Negative, haven't heard from him either.
I'll bug him over on the EAR website.

Oborous

Last edited by Oborous; October 19th, 2009 at 11:46..
Oborous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 17:18   #123
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
The dude takes forever to respond. I pm'd him before but it takes him many days to respond. So I just gave up on him and bought it off of baker jeff
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 22:29   #124
Wrath144
formerly steyr
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
He replied quickly and regularly before I sent the money...
Wrath144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 01:08   #125
Wrath144
formerly steyr
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
I heard back from him, he's just busy. All is well.
Wrath144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 01:32   #126
mcguyver
 
mcguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern Alberta
@ turok-t

If this spacer is as good as the modified PTW hop-up (as Azatoth claims), you should get groups like this:



These were shot from a CQB-R PTW (M130) with modified hop, using 0.30g Madbull IPSC BBs, distance precisely 100 feet from muzzle to paper. The gun was clamped in a Kolpin gun vise, which was set on a table. The crosswind was between 10-20km/hour that day, and my POI (point of impact) was about 18"-24" from my aim point off the right-hand side of the target. The black dots inside the pen circles are the impact holes, they are a little difficult to see on camera otherwise.

I can't tell from the vids what distance that is exactly, but it looks like alot less than 100 feet. You definately have an issue there.
__________________
Age verifier Northern Alberta

Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner.

Freedom is the wolves limping away while the sheep reloads.

Never confuse freedom with democracy.
mcguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 11:05   #127
Skladfin
 
Skladfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcguyver View Post
@ turok-t

If this spacer is as good as the modified PTW hop-up (as Azatoth claims), you should get groups like this:



These were shot from a CQB-R PTW (M130) with modified hop, using 0.30g Madbull IPSC BBs, distance precisely 100 feet from muzzle to paper. The gun was clamped in a Kolpin gun vise, which was set on a table. The crosswind was between 10-20km/hour that day, and my POI (point of impact) was about 18"-24" from my aim point off the right-hand side of the target. The black dots inside the pen circles are the impact holes, they are a little difficult to see on camera otherwise.

I can't tell from the vids what distance that is exactly, but it looks like alot less than 100 feet. You definately have an issue there.
I don't think he has the SCS installed in that video.
Skladfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 15:10   #128
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Im not using the SCS and my hop up is COMPLETELY TURNED OFF. I was shooting the gun today in my backyard and it seemed quite inconsistent for some reason. More inconsistent than the video. I think my backyard is around 25 feet if im correct and I should be getting better groupings, but im not. Hopefully when I get a full upgrade from my local gun doc, it would be shooting better.
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 15:17   #129
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
If your hop is COMPLETELY off the BB's may not be held in place by the rubber and roll partially down your barrel before the air shoots it out the barrel.
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 15:22   #130
mcguyver
 
mcguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern Alberta
The hop-up needs to be engaged and properly set before you can even think about accuracy or consistancy.

It's like complaining about the picture quality on a TV before you've properly set it up.
__________________
Age verifier Northern Alberta

Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner.

Freedom is the wolves limping away while the sheep reloads.

Never confuse freedom with democracy.
mcguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 15:45   #131
DonP
 
DonP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB
Hop-up isn't "off" when turned off all the way, it's "indeterminate/uncontrolled".
DonP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 17:07   #132
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
So if i put my hop up to a minimum, will it position the bb in place for each shot, and hence, improve my accuracy and consistency?
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 18:10   #133
mcguyver
 
mcguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern Alberta
You set the hop-up to exaclty what you need to for a flat trajectory. Some gun/BB combinations may never be able to generate enough hop-up, or can too easily generate over-hop. You need to be able to shoot at distances up to (and maybe over) 200 feet to be able to do this effectively. Youy can't do it in 25 feet, that's for sure.
__________________
Age verifier Northern Alberta

Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner.

Freedom is the wolves limping away while the sheep reloads.

Never confuse freedom with democracy.
mcguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 18:33   #134
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
Under 40-45ft won't tell you squat. Get out to a game...tune in your hopup with 0.25g (min)...preferably heavier (i.e. 0.28/0.30g) BBs. You can still chrony with 0.20g BBs...but the heavier ones will result in better accuracy at pretty much any range/distance.

If you tweak your hopup for 0.20g BBs...you'll likely need to re-do it for different weights/brands (definitely for different weights).
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2009, 21:48   #135
Azathoth
 
Azathoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Red Deer
Send a message via MSN to Azathoth
Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
Under 40-45ft won't tell you squat. Get out to a game...tune in your hopup with 0.25g (min)...preferably heavier (i.e. 0.28/0.30g) BBs. You can still chrony with 0.20g BBs...but the heavier ones will result in better accuracy at pretty much any range/distance.

If you tweak your hopup for 0.20g BBs...you'll likely need to re-do it for different weights/brands (definitely for different weights).
You will need to tune your hopup for all kinds of environmental conditions like BB weight, BB manufacturer, humidity, temperature etc. What you are shooting over will have an affect. Shooting across a small pond you will get wildly different hopup vs over a dry field.



PS I am back. I had accounting exams, anyone who has written a EUFI will know exactly what I am talking about.
__________________
Do you know what ruins airsoft?
(Chair), (Drama), (Air), (Sugar) softers, filthy casuals
---
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcguyver View Post
it would appear I am not first up in this gang-bang
---
WANTED PTW Receiver PRIME, STG, Factory
Azathoth is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Upgrades & Modifications

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.